Meet the Founder of Toyin LaTour Streetwear Clothing

img_8661-2

Hi ! My name is Omolara Odupitan, Founder of Toyin LaTour. I just wanted to share with you all a little background on how I started this company.

I started Toyin LaTour in 2014 when I was in the Air Force living in the barracks. My whole life I felt like a fashion outsider, mimicking different styles or the newest trends trying to find where I could fit in. Whenever I did my own thing and dressed “outside the box” people didn’t understand, they questioned and sometime even made fun. As a young adult, these are things that would make you not even want to express yourself.

As I got older, I realized how much I hated going shopping, mainly because I don’t like to purchase clothing most people have, I don’t like to look like everyone else, and I had a hard time finding clothing more my style. So I figured why not just make my own clothing? For the longest time I was too afraid to. All I could think about was how hard and complicated it seemed.

Back in 2014 I had a lot of free time because I worked nights and all my friends worked days. I blew thru a lot of hobbies such as photography, painting, sculpting, etc. I was very good at all these things but I wasn’t passionate about them. So finally I gave in and bought a sewing machine. I figured out how to assemble and thread it. I couldn’t believe how easy it was. That same night I made my very first item, a long red and navy blue hooded rain coat, it took me 14 hours. I wore that thing everywhere lol I was so proud of myself. I started designing more clothing as a kind of expressive release. The more clothing I brought to life, the more amazed everyone I knew seemed to be by my designs. That’s what made me want to share it with the world. I was featured in a couple of local fashion shows and each time I felt like a super star lol. That’s how much support and praise I was receiving.

Toyin LaTour has given me an enormous boost in confidence by helping me to let myself wear what I want, whenever I want, wherever I want, and not caring about what other people think. I have come such a long way since it all began and I hope Toyin LaTour helps people grow just as it helped me. “I may not change the world, but let me inspire someone who can.” -Wale

Toyin LaTour, diary of the misunderstood.
Leave a Reply

